books, Tag, Welcome

Intimidating TBR Book Tag

Hello everybody!
Long time, no tag huh? *crickets* That was a lame pun, I’m sorry.

Anyways, today I’m doing the Intimidating TBR Book Tag! And guess what? I was actually tagged to do this one…… like a year ago……

I’m so so sorry @MeredithReads! At least I’m doing it now right? Better late than never?…… I have no excuses other than forgetfulness combined with laziness. Forgive me.

 

pink-watercolor-flowers-with-ethnic-arrow-creative-boho-style-illustration_1302-5396

A book you haven’t been unable to finish?

If any of you follow me on Goodreads this would be an obvious answer if you look at my “currently reading” shelf. But if you’re not, the book that I haven’t been able to finish is Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard, the sequel to Red Queen. I have had that book on my “currently reading” shelf since February of last year (around publication day) and I haven’t picked it up or tried to pick it up ever since.

I just can’t deal with the main character, Mare Barrow. She was annoying, entitled, and whiny. She just ruined the book for me. I want to pick it back up and finally say “I finished it!” but the reading experience I’ve had so far has left me with a bad taste in my mouth. I have no idea when (if ever) I’ll get to finishing this book.

A book you haven’t read because….
…… you haven’t had time?

That book would be Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. When the book came out, everyone on bookstagram (book community in instagram) was so hyped about it, so I bought it the day after it released. But between reading other books and getting into slumps and having to prioritize ARC’s, I haven’t really had the time to read Passenger. Hopefully, I’ll get to it soon because I did like The Darkest Minds (first book in Alexandra’s other series).

…… it’s a sequel?

For this I’m picking A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi. I have a physical ARC copy of this that I got through a giveaway on Goodreads but I haven’t picked it up because it’s the sequel to Star-Touched Queen, which I haven’t read. I do want to get to this duology though because I’ve heard nothing but good things about it.

…… it’s brand new?

I mentioned this book on another post, Books I Own That I Need To Read: Middle Grade Edition! and it’s Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty. This is one of the last books that I bought. I got this at BJ’s for around $11 last month. I also got this other book by James Patterson, I believe it’s called House? But I can’t find it. I believe my brother took it and hid it so I’m going to wait until he’s sleeping so I can search his room. First lesson in growing up with siblings, you can’t trust your own blood.

…… read a book by the same author and didn’t like it?

I am hesitant to read Roseblood by A.G. Howard because I didn’t really like Splintered, which is an Alice in Wonderland retelling. I enjoyed the plot and the world, what turned me off was the love triangle. It was poorly written and I honestly think it was unnecessary. I am also not a fan of the musical Roseblood is based off which is The Phantom of the Opera*.

*I only saw the movie, I haven’t seen the actual play version. Maybe I’ll like it better if I do see it.

…… just not in the mood?

I’m choosing Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, good thing my brother doesn’t read my blog because that’s one of his favorite books. I really want to read this book I’ve heard nothing but amazing things. I just haven’t been in the mood to read a science fiction novel. Sorry, hopefully I’ll get in the mood soon.

…… it’s humongous?

I literally state every book I haven’t read because it’s huge in my other post, Intimidating Books I Want To Read. If any of you guys read it, you know I have a lot!

I guess the main one would be Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. It looks so daunting, it intimidates me so much. I have no idea why though! I read Illuminae, the first book, which is around the same size and it was such an easy read!

…… it was a cover buy that ended up having bad reviews?

I don’t really have any books that are under 2 stars and when I buy a book, even if I was drawn to the cover, I usually look at Goodreads for the rating. A book that I own that has the lowest rating is Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls with a 3.49, but I already read this book so it’s not on my TBR. I didn’t like it by the way.

The Most Intimidating Book on your TBR List!

Lastly, the most intimidating book on my TBR list has got to be….*drumroll*…..

A COURT OF MIST AND FURY!

Congrats ACOMAF! Come right on down and claim your prize!!!

But seriously, I’m really intimidated to read this book for multiple reasons. The biggest being that I’m scared that I’ll either hate it or not like it as much as everyone else does. There is SOOOO much hype surrounding this series, especially this book, that it just scares the ever loving shit out of me. The ACOMAF fans scare me, okay? I’m sorry!

pink-watercolor-flowers-with-ethnic-arrow-creative-boho-style-illustration_1302-5396

That’s a wrap, folks! What’s the most intimidating book on your TBR list? Is your TBR list small, big, never-ending? Comment down below with some of your answers. I’m tagging Mikaela @TheWellThumbedReader but if you want to participate in this tag, consider yourself tagged by me!

-Janeli (The Underground Bookdom)

 

*Vectors: Pink watercolor flowers with ethnic arrow

Leave a Reply

